Celebrate SHAPE America Award Winners
in Health and Physical Education


Congratulations to the following 2024 SHAPE America award recipients and lecturers, who will be recognized at the SHAPE America National Convention & Expo in Cleveland. Our professions benefit daily from the hard work, dedication and vision of all of these individuals.


Hall of Fame Award

The Hall of Fame Award honors outstanding individuals who make significant contributions to maintaining physical and health education, physical activity, dance and sport as important parts of the total educational program.

Tom Loughrey Headshot
Tom Loughrey MOSHAPE

Luther Halsey Gulick Award

The Luther Halsey Gulick Award is the highest honor SHAPE America bestows in recognition of long and distinguished service to one or more of the professions.

Irene Cucina Headshot
Irene Cucina Plymouth State University (NH)

Barbara A. Cooley Health Education Master’s Scholarship

  • Tyler Fawbush, Chicago State University (IL)

Bill Kane Health Education Undergraduate Scholarship

  • Tienna Moore, Howard University (DC)

C.H. McCloy Research Lecture

  • Lecturer: Samuel Hodge, The Ohio State University

Claudine Sherrill Adapted Physical Education Lecture

  • Lecturer: Joonkoo Yun, East Carolina University

Adapted PE/Activity Graduate Student of the Year Award

  • Lindsey Nowland, Old Dominion University (VA)

Julian U. Stein Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Samuel Hodge, The Ohio State University

CSPAP Keynote Lecture

  • Lecturer: Eloise Elliott, West Virginia University

CSPAP SIG Innovative Paper Award

  • TBD

Curriculum & Instruction Scholar Lecture

  • Lecturer: Dwayne Edwards, Regis High School (NY)
  • Lecturer: Sara Flory, University of South Florida

Curriculum & Instruction Honor Award

  • Jennifer Krause, University of Northern Colorado

Dr. Doris R. Corbett Johnson Leaders for our Future Award

  • Chris Merica, University of North Carolina, Wilmington
  • Kelly Simonton, University of Wyoming

E. B. Henderson Award

  • Zan Gao, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Helen Heitmann Young Scholar Award

  • Victoria Shiver, University of New Mexico

Joy of Effort Award

  • Becky Foellmer, CBHPE (retired), Plainfield (IL)
  • Nana Donkor, PGCPS, Upper Marlboro (MD)

Lolas E. Halverson Scholar Lecture

  • Lecturer: Nancy Getchell, University of Delaware

Measurement & Evaluation JoAnne Safrit Lecture

  • Lecturer: Barbara E. Ainsworth, Arizona State University

Mentor of the Year

  • Shannon Mulhearn, University of Nebraska-Kearney

MPEES Reviewer of the Year

  • TBD

North American Society of Health, Physical Education, Recreation & Dance Fellows

  • Jo Bailey, DC Everest Senior High (WI)
  • Pam Beach, SUNY Brockport (NY)
  • Ali Brian, University of South Carolina
  • Brian Culp, Kennesaw State University (GA)
  • Eloise Elliott, West Virginia University
  • Heather Erwin, University of Kentucky
  • David Lorenzi, Indiana University of PA
  • Mark Manross, Human Kinetics (NC)
  • Ben Sibley, Appalachian State University (NC)

Presidential Citations

  • Holly Alperin, University of New Hampshire
  • Southern Connecticut State University, Physical and Health Education Faculty & Chair

Raymond A. Weiss Lecture

  • Lecturer: Senlin Chen, Louisiana State University

Research Council Distinguished Service Award

  • Sue Sutherland, The Ohio State University

Research Fellows

  • Yang Bai, University of Utah
  • Cate Egan, University of South Carolina Upstate
  • Rob Hardin, University of Tennessee
  • Mara Simon, Springfield College
  • Kip Webster, University of Michigan

RQES Lecture

  • Lecturer: Barbara E. Ainsworth, Arizona State University

Ruth Abernathy Presidential Scholarships

  • Farrah Castleman, Western Kentucky University
  • Sydney Kozlowski, Illinois State University
  • Jared Rago, SUNY-Cortland (NY)
  • Michael Ertel, University of South Carolina (Doctorate)
  • Lindsey Nowland, Old Dominion University (VA) (Doctorate)

SHAPE America Daryl Siedentop Scholar Lecture

  • Lecturer: Thomas Templin, University of Michigan (retired)

Thom McKenzie Research Grant 2024

  • TBD